Keep yourself and those in your care safer by utilising the Travel Tracker feature, offering colleagues, parents and carers peace of mind when it could matter the most.
Travel Tracker keeps others up to date on your location. It is available on both iOS and Android app versions, and means that users can share their live location to a trusted contact for a limited period of time. The feature enables a the App User to share their location. This works at device level, so location sharing must be enabled for your Safer Schools Scotland App for this feature to work.
You might find this particularly useful if your away on a school trip with a group of pupils, work across a large school site or remotely, or if you have a long walk home!
Where can you find it?
Scroll down you main menu and you'll find Travel Tracker. Once you tap it it'll take you to something that looks like a timer.
This is the Travel Tracker itself. Simply use the scrollers to select the time you wish to share you location for (between 15 minutes and 8 hours) and start the timer.
Remember that Location Sharing must be enabled for this feature to work as it monitors your location at device level. You can enable and disable this in the settings of your device.
On first use, and subsequently if it is not turned on, your device will ask your permission to share your location.
Once you've selected your chosen time to share, simply click Start The Timer and this will then ask you to confirm if you wish to share your location
Once you have started your Travel Timer, it will count down like any other timer. This timer dictates how long those with your tracking link can view it for. You can choose to stop it at any time by tapping End location sharing at the bottom of the screen. This will disable the link.
Sharing your Location
During the time the timer is counting down, you have the option to Share Your Location.
When you wish to do so, tap Share Your Location. This will then give you the option to use any of the communication apps on your phone such as E-mail, Bluetooth or other Messaging Apps. Simply pick your preferred method, and you can send a link to view your location in real time. This will open in an internet browser with an image like a sat-nav, pinpointing your location for the recipient.
Your Location will only be viewable, or 'active' if:
- Someone has the link
- Your timer is still counting down
If you chose to stop the timer by tapping End Location Sharing, even those with the link will NOT be able to view your location. You are in control.
If you're asking a Young Person to utilise the Travel Tracker, remind them that their location should only ever be shared with a trusted adult or a friend that they trust.
Still feeling unsure?
Our Service Engagement team are always here to answer any questions you may have and provide you with any support you need.
💻 Check out our other support articles
📞 Call our team on 02890232060
📩 Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org